Another year

Looks like I made it another year. And a crappy one it was. Crushing debt, Confirmation of a love lost for good. And one never meant to be. Barely surviving in this hellhole of a neighborhood in the grimiest city in the state.

My only constant companion is my dog. And I don’t even get to spend quality time with him. I don’t even want to know what’s in store for the next year. I have a crapload of people wishing day full of happiness I don’t feel.

But I’ll be polite and say thank you and wear the mask once again for another year. And follow this life, hoping that my purpose on this rock becomes clear that I may fulfill it and be done. All I ever wanted was to live a life working in a field which helped make people’s lives better. And come home and spend time with a loving family. Instead, I spend my days listening to bitching about bills and non-working electronics. Sure, I get a good bit of nice, reasonable people sprinkled in too. But not too many.

I may have unconditional love from my boy, but even he reminds me of those I’ve loved along the way. Hell, the wife bought him for me. These days, I’ve got him and the Jack Daniels he’s named after and that’s about it. God only knows how I’ve managed to hold on this long. Oh well, the ride goes on…

Leave a Reply

